i.m. Jim Hall

I’ve just had the terrible news that a good friend and colleague, Jim Hall, died yesterday (Sunday) evening. It is hard to take in. I worked with him on Falmouth’s MA, and also on OU courses, including one we ran together last year in Wiltshire. We’d agreed to halve the fee so that we could join in each other’s teaching: it was more fun that way. We’d planned to repeat the course this year – and, the day before yesterday, we met at Taunton at a tutor briefing for the OU, sat and had lunch together. It was always good to see him – he was always fizzing with ideas, and had new enthusiasms, and was full of eccentric and passionate whims. Watching him teach was a treat – a whirlwind of ironic remarks, and able to make narratology amusing (not easy!). He could chuck in words like ‘extradiegetic’ and make them sound like they belonged in everyday conversations.

When someone goes with whom you’ve shared great rolling conversations, and a lot of laughter, it’s somehow absurd. He was 58. That’s too young.

He was the course leader in journalism at Falmouth, and a great exponent of online teaching and writing, but for me, just a fund of good humour and intensively creative ideas. I will miss him.

Jim Hall

Jim Hall
5 Responses to i.m. Jim Hall

  1. Chrisy Dennis says:

    Hi Bill

    I only knew Jim for a few weeks (although I met him years before) as my mentor. I could not have been given a kinder, more considerate, chilled and funny man for my mentor. I will cherish Saturday and our journey back to Cornwall. I miss him and I appreciate how much you will miss him.

    Chrisy

  2. David O'Rourke says:

    I attended that course in Wiltshire. Bill and Jim were a sparkling combination. I was looking forward to a repeat performance in ’09 for the OU’s new Advanced Creative Writing course. I count myself so lucky to have had a few jars with Jim in the village inn after everyone else had retired for the night. On his suggestion, we simply ambled back to the same place from which we had just come. He was very entertaining and loved to talk of growing up in Africa and of his time in Northern Ireland. We chatted a lot about Ireland, writing and writers. I was looking forward to a repeat of that too. Jim was indeed fizzing that night.

    So sorry to hear the news

    David

  3. Christina says:

    Jim brought me to Falmouth to run a Writing course. I was new to HE but thought he would be a great person to work with and trusted him to show me the ropes. Which he was and did, and then continued to do for six years. He was an inspiratation and an amazing support professionally, and also a good friend. He could be very annoying – he went through a phase of using my photocopying code for instance. And he was useless at reading maps on the way to conferences.

    But he was such fun. So kind. So clever. And so loved.

    All thoughts to Vicky and Paddy.

  4. Chris Locke says:

    Jim brought me to Falmouth too. He’d just taught year zero of the Journalism course, and saved me from post-Postgrad poverty by giving me my first job, teaching the second year.

    In that respect, I owe him everything.

    Love to Vicky and Paddy. Hope to get to Falmouth to pay my respects.

  5. Kate Sermon says:

    I had Jim as my tutor for A215 last year and was inspired by him. He was the first person to tell me that I was a good writer and since then I have not left the laptop alone. I recently became published for the first time and thought of him as I signed my contract. Would have been lovely to have told him.

Leave a Reply

