Kitchens

Another stray poem …

Kitchens

 

On Masterchef, the knives are swish,

As is, of course, the blow-torch:

For you may wish to give your dish

A Chinese burn or slow scorch.

 

I used to think, with a recipe,

Of the kitchen’s manumission:

But now I find that I must be

A laboratory technician.

 

Gordon, Heston, Michel Roux,

Give me your rears to wallop –

I can’t be arsed to make a jus

Or to sear another scallop.

 

God rot your kitchen cabinet,

With your rosti, and your foam.

Mash and meat, that’s what they’ll get,

My kids, when they come home.

Leave a Reply

