Sunderland Antiquarian Society and more Herrings

I’ve always wanted to join the Sunderland Antiquarian Society (over a century old), and I’m not sure why I haven’t. But now, back in Co. Durham – I refuse to honour the fiction of ‘Tyne And Wear’ – there is no reason why not. So I paid my sub, and made my way to their hideaway in Sunderland Minster (it wasn’t called that when I was a kid), and received a really warm welcome. The archives they have are boxed up every way you look. It will take years to work though.

The very first box I opened – literally, the first – had a photograph of my great-grandfather (and name-sake) on top of the pile. That was an auspicious beginning. There was so much there that I hardly knew which way to turn. I glimpsed a box of nineteenth-century legal documents in envelopes: about a hundred of them. The first one I pulled out of the pile contained a pair of documents from 1848. They were signed by my great-great-great-great-grandfather, William Herring, from whom I get my name as my great-grandfather did before me. He was 84 when he signed them, and he was, at some length, giving his daughter, via her husband – I didn’t know he had a daughter, either, which made it even better – a number of items to have and to hold: a pew in a Monkwearmouth church which he’d purchased; five mortgages on tracts of land, on which he was lending money at 5%; various houses.  Not to mention the appurtenances thereof.

I know now that he had three children, and this one, Mary, is the youngest one I know of (she seems to have had no children, and not to have survived her elderly father very long – he lived until he was 88, in 1852). There is only one Mary Herring from Monkwearmouth, and in the IGI, the sometimes unreliable record made by the Mormons, mainly in the 1970s (not that I wish to be anything other than grateful), shows her father as William Herring, and her mother as Mary Craggs. This now makes it 100% certain that I have been right all along and that William Herring snr had two sons: William Herring jnr, and James Craggs Herring. There is always an itch of doubt when you connect up a family. It is so easy to make a mistake. It looked almost certain that William H jr and James Craggs H were brothers, but this is the fifteenth and final proof I’ve been looking for. Plainly William H snr – Billy, as he was known – passed on his belongings to his children with great care. His own will is short and his estate very slight (and also completely in favour of James Craggs Herring). The signature on both will and the documents is the same; the documents mention William jr. It is almost as if he had a business relationship with one son (William), and not the other, although he spent his last months with James and family. This is a mystery I will never quite solve.

The documents also identify five or six fields amongst other plots of land – which he had leased from the church and from the major local landowner, Sir Hedworth Williamson. For the first time I can see on an 1820 map some of the areas of what is now Southwick in which he had interests. And the suspicion grows that they are just the start of it. His grandson James – the leader of Sunderland’s Liberal party – was also a major property-owner in Southwick, although the article about him passed to me by another toiler in the boneyard two years ago, says that James ‘was not a local’. This is despite his living in Southwick. I’ve been assuming it meant he was from further afield, but I think it just means the next suburb along: Monkwearmouth. I must keep reminding myself how finicky North-Easterners are about the precise place from which they come (and Southwick fought a long battle to stay separate which lasted until 1928).

So here it is: my great-great-great-great-grandfather’s hand. I wonder what else I am going to find. Now that I am (an) Antiquarian.

William "Billy" Herring's signature

2 Responses to Sunderland Antiquarian Society and more Herrings

  1. yttableachim says:

    I found your article interesting as I am descended from the Craggs of Boldon, and I think Mary Craggs who married William Herring was the daughter of James Craggs and Mary Hunter. I found some articles in the London Gazette about James Craggs Herring and William Herring – you’ve probably seen these but I thought I would let you know about them in case you haven’t.
    Michael Batty
    http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/issues/21257/pages/2825/page.pdf
    http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/issues/21883/pages/1779/page.pdf
    http://www.london-gazette.co.uk/issues/22033/pages/2875/page.pdf

    • Michael – sorry so long in replying, having de-blogged (as it were) for 18 months. I had seen the London Gazette materialm but thanks for sending it. I’ve found various more things – and an extant Herring relativ aged 104! – since posting this so would be happy to be in touch: billgreenwellcwr@ol.com

      Bill

Leave a Reply

